Food in London 

I’ve just got in from a little day trip down to London, from my town it’s only about 22 minutes on the train (if you catch the right train). I am lucky to live closeby, I’m a big fan of London – it’s got almost everything to offer. Particularly when it comes down to food! I don’t think there will be a cuisine that’s not represented in the capital! For example, last summer I sat outside and I tried vegan Ethiopian food. 


Today was far too cold for that though, you need something a bit more substantial in January! So today I tried authentic pie and mash – a real old school Cockney dish. I’d give it a solid 7/10.


After some walking, museums etc it was time to eat again and we wanted Sichuan food. Oh how I miss Sichuan food! So we found a restaurant in Chinatown and had a taste of our old home. The prices are way off being authentic – probably 10 times the normal rate we paid! But at least the taste was similar. I had mapo tofu, a very famous Sichuan dish. 


As I think this post shows, London has a ridiculous variety of food! You couldn’t get bored of eating out there, you could very easily become bankrupt though. I hope I can have another trip when I’m back in England at Easter. Long live London! 

5 thoughts on “Food in London 

  1. When I was a child, everyone always said that London had the worst food ever. I don’t know where that came from… I love London’s diversity, you can find anything there. Mapo tofu, give me some 😀

Leave a Reply

